Over the years, the RPT has had some excellent poker players.  The top points leader each year is dubbed as the “RPT Player of the Year.”  Here are the folks that have achieved this prestigious honor each year:

2016: Bob Herd Sr. – Bob is the oldest RPTer in our history.  Bob had a year for the ages and earned his PotY award after planning heart surgery around the RPT schedule to ensure he didn’t miss any valuable RPT points.  Congrats to Bob Herd.

2015: Brian Bennett – Brian is a quiet player and he quietly dominated all year as he easily cruised through the year and achieved his first RPT Player of the Year finish.

2014: Tony Huckestein – Tony dominated the RPT all year won the RPT POY without any suspense.

2013: Brian Ross – Brian was barely holding first in the POY Standings going into the November tournament. After an early exit from a ghost straight flush from Grover, Brian was sure his POY status was finished and Rob Schilling would coast into first. After basically conceding defeat, the math that dropped the two lowest scores kept Brian’s score as 1 point higher than Rob’s for another squeaked out POY to give Brian back-to-back POY finishes.

2012: Brian Ross – Brian was well behind in the POY standings but a Beer Bitch finish by Voldemort and a 3rd place finish by Brian gave him just enough points to pull it out.

2011: Tony Huckestein – Tony edged out Jim by 1 point to take the 2011 POY honors.

2010: Jim Wagner

2009: Jim Wagner

2008: Mike Goddard

2007: Jim Wagner

2006: Charles Harris

2005: John Wilenski – “The Matador” was one of the initial members of the RPT and helped set the tone for competitive tournament style poker early on.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.